Industries & Festivals — March 7, 2013 at 1:46 pm

32nd Istanbul Film Festival to feature more than 200 films in over 20 sections

istanbulThe 32nd Istanbul Film Festival to open on March 29.

Organized by the Istanbul Foundation of Culture and Arts, the festival, which will open on March 29, will feature more than 200 film in over 20 sections and anticipates more than 150,000 cinemagoers, Screen Daily reported.

The programme will also feature panels, workshops and master classes with film-makers.

The opening film will be Pedro Almodovar’s “I’m So Excited”, following the opening ceremony at the Lutfi Kirdar Convention and Exhibition Centre.

The festival programme includes a new section titled Stories of Women as well as the From Literature to Silver Screen section, which returns following a long absence. Special sections include Am I Not a Citizen?: Barbarism, Civic Awakening and the City in collaboration with the 13th Istanbul Biennial and Reality is a Miracle: Carlos Reygadas.

Meetings on the Bridge, including film development and work in progress workshops, will be held for the eighth time within the festival.

The closing and awards ceremony will be held on April 14 at the Cemal Resit Rey Concert Hall, during which the Golden Tulips and other prizes will be presented. The winning film will be screened again after the ceremony.

The Best Picture in the National Competition category will be awarded with $85,000 (150,000 TL) and the Best Director will win $28,000 (50,000 TL).

The jury will be headed by Turkish film director Tayfun Pirselimoglu. Director of Montpellier International Mediterranean Film Festival Jean-Francois Bourgeot, Director of TV stations Cine+Club, Classic&Star, Famiz Bruno Deloye, Painter Komet, actress Nihal Yalc?n are the other members of the National Golden Tulip Competition Jury.

The head of jury for the International Golden Tulip Competition will be director Peter Weir. As well as Weir, Screen International film critic Mark Adams, Iranian actress Fatemeh Simin Motamed-Arya, Sebastian Lelio, director of Gloria which won the Best Actress Award in Berlin International Film Festival, Malgoska Szumowska, the director of In The Name Of winning the Teddy Award in Berlin (also to be screened in “From the World of Festivals” section of the festival), will also be jury members.

Director Costa Gavras will be presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award before the screening of his latest film Capital on April 7. The director will also give a master class on the same day.

A Cinema Honorary Award will be presented to director Peter Weir at the closing ceremony and will also give a master class April 12.

BZFilm on Facebook:

comments powered by Disqus

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.